A useful cheat

NOTICE: This forum is archived as read only.
Please use the Github Discussions at https://github.com/exult/exult/discussions
Forum rules
NOTICE: This forum is archived as read only.
Please use the Github Discussions at https://github.com/exult/exult/discussions
Locked
Anonymous

A useful cheat

Post by Anonymous »

If there's already a way to do this, I apologise... but I haven't found it yet so I'm assuming there's not.

I think it would be very useful to have a cheat key that causes all signs etc. that are in runic/ophidian/whatever to be translated. I have always liked the use of runic in Ultimas... but sometimes I just can't be bothered doing the tranlating.

I assume exult renders the runic characters onto a blank background in these situations.. so would it just be as easy as rendering in english rather than runic? I realise there are runes that stand for multiple letters (i.e. the TH one).. does that make it more difficult? Perhaps one of the characters could "say" (in the same way that they say things like "Oh no, not more rain") the translation if that would be easier.
Dominus
Site Admin
Posts: 5656
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 1:34 pm

Re: A useful cheat

Post by Dominus »

there is such a cheat, just not easily found...

Hint: Cheat menu (F2), Npc tool, npc #0, Npc flags on that screen it is then kind of obvious what to change....
--
Read the documentation and the FAQ! There is no excuse for not reading them! RTFM
Read the Rules!
We do not support Piracy/Abandonware/Warez!
Wizardry Dragon
Posts: 1241
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 1:34 pm

Re: A useful cheat

Post by Wizardry Dragon »

Is it possible for a translate thing to work in Black Gate?

How would I code it so that when the spell is in effect it circumvents the effects of one function, the one that prints it in runes? Would I have to modify that function as well?

~Wizardry Dragon
Cheers, Wizardry Dragon
Lead Designer, Ultima VII: The Feudal Lands
www.thefeudallands.ca
artaxerxes
Site Admin
Posts: 1310
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 1:34 pm

Re: A useful cheat

Post by artaxerxes »

that's in the engine.
Basically it works that way:

show_coded_string(string){
if (spell_is_active)
alphabet_to_use = normal
else
alphabet_to_use = runic
print (string,alphabet_to_use)
}

Artaxerxes
Locked