Page 1 of 1
additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 1:15 am
by Quester
I add russian symbols in font shape (latin is saved)
in text.flx I translate some words using additional symbols
but then I run game, the russian symbols is not shown, but latin in same words is correctly shown
I think the symbols with number more then 138 is ignored...
It there way to use additional symbols?
[edit - author/subject were in the wrong field]
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 5:03 am
by artaxerxes
you must have the equivalent symbols in the fonts.vga file.
Unpack fonts.vga using "expack -x fonts.vga", rename 0.u70 into 0.shp, edit this file with the gimp (+ the plugin) and add the symbol at the appropriate place.
For instance is the number value of the character is 138, then put the symbol at the frame #138.
Once this is done, recreate the file fonts.vga but running "expack -c fonts.vga [list_of_shape_files_in_order]" and copy this file to the static/ directory.
That should do it.
Artaxerxes
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 10:11 pm
by Quester
I add symbols by using exult studio, it different then you say to do?
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 5:07 am
by artaxerxes
as long as the symbols are found in the fonts.vga file, all should be ok
Artaxerxes
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:24 am
by Quester
symbols added, I check it trow shpsplit & exult studio, but if symbol have ยน>127 it not shown... maybe exult cut it?
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:33 am
by wjp
I'll check this out when I get home tonight. I don't think Exult ignores characters above 127, but I'm not sure.
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:10 am
by Quester
I was check source code, and find some code, where numbers more is 127 cutting, example - font_spin(shape, 128);
...
len > 127 ? len = 127 : len++; (or something like this)
For example I make string Fxfx (x - my additional symbol), but I see only Ff...
A replace symbol number 30 with my shape - it was draw correctly...
HEEELP me sombody!!!
I WANT TRANSLATE IT!!!
)) pleesss
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 4:00 am
by wjp
For the record: this is because chars > 127 are negative in a signed char.
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 5:38 am
by artaxerxes
why don't you REPLACE fonts 1 to 127 with what you want?!
Does the russian alphabet use more thatn 127 characters? If not, you're all set!
Artaxerxes
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 7:21 pm
by Quester
players, who will use not complitly translate patch must see english & russian texts both.
Re: additional font symbols - bug?
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2003 4:39 am
by artaxerxes
Then use the uppercase for English (for instance) and the lowercase for Russian.
When you are finished with the project entirely, remove the english and replace with russian uppercase and adjust the translated text also.
Artaxerxes