remaking ultima games

NOTICE: This forum is archived as read only.
Please use the Github Discussions at https://github.com/exult/exult/discussions
Forum rules
NOTICE: This forum is archived as read only.
Please use the Github Discussions at https://github.com/exult/exult/discussions
ed

remaking ultima games

Post by ed »

i am interested in doing a remake of an ultima game, but i dont really know anything about making a game. i can program in c/c++, but that's as far as i can go. im just a simple web programmer in need of training in the art of making video games. can anyone direct me to a few helpful resources to start?
drcode
Site Admin

Re: remaking ultima games

Post by drcode »

You might try buying a book on game-programming. It doesn't even need to be a recent one.
Andrea .B. Previtera

Post by Andrea .B. Previtera »

You could take the Nuvie engine and do a remake of Ultima IX with that!!

Then you set up a webpage for the project, with the required broken links and hand-made screenshots of "this is what our remake is going to look like". The most important part is a "news" section where each 2 months or so you'll display a sketch of one of the ultima characters, and/or an announcement of delay.

After N months, with N<12, you can successfully drop the project and go back playing Exult.
Dominus
Site Admin

Post by Dominus »

Don't forget the switching of engines once in a while and the "hiring" of other willing fans. Most important is to have at least 3 to 10 webdesigners (as the webpage will be the only part of the project that is going to last) and let them design a webpage with a gazillion frames and flash objects...

Oh, the evil of sarcasm....
--
Read the documentation and the FAQ! There is no excuse for not reading them! RTFM
Read the Rules!
We do not support Piracy/Abandonware/Warez!
SB-X

Post by SB-X »

But it isn't as funny if you point out that it's sarcasm.
Darke
Site Admin

Post by Darke »